Posted by: normanlgreen | July 18, 2012

Dream, July 18, 2012 loss between generations


Dream, home, 5:50 am

A woman has asked me to scan a poster – busy with layered images and several uncomplimentary typefaces. She wants me to format it for printing in a different aspect ratio (width to height).

When she sees the printed piece, she is disappointed, close to rage. She does not wish to understand that each generation from the original is not the original. I try to explain: “You cannot be your own mother.”

She is bothered that the space is not filled out in the same way as the original, and she cannot grasp that a picture of something is not the thing itself.  I try:  “A map is not the territory it represents.” My explanations fall flat — I waste both her time and my own.

Leave a Reply

Categories

