Posted by: normanlgreen | March 14, 2013

Dream, March 14, 2013 beginning to see the light


Dream, home, 6;13 am

My brother hands me a guitar to show him the chords to Beginning to See the Light by Lou Reed. For a pick he hands me a stapler.

The action on the dreadnought acoustic is set very low and the strings feel tuned too tight, too high. The sound-hole is positioned unusually close to the neck. The wood of the body is colored like coffee with a dash of cream, and the neck is barely darker. The stapler is weighty desk model from the 1960s. I hold it near the business end and position it over the sound-hole.

I strike straight sixteenth notes for the first two chords in the progression before I hand back the stapler.

“I will not use this.”

I feel relief in the room.

Leave a Reply

Categories

